Penguin Sweaters

Cuteness Overload
Cuteness Overload (Phillip Island Nature Parks)

The oldest man in Australia is a knitter. He knits sweaters for the penguins affected by the oil spills in the Southeastern coast of the country.

Did you know that the sweaters prevent the cute birds from preening themselves and ingesting the oil – and of course, sweaters are notoriously known for providing warmth.

When I read this headline, I immediately thought about my great-grandma (daddy’s grandma).

She is the funniest person I know and even though I’ve only been at her house once (she lives far away), she was really nice to me and I loved it when she was petting me.

Daddy told me that like the man from Australia, she also knits! She doesn’t knit sweaters for penguins, but she knits lots and lots and lots of hats! She ships them off to Ukraine so that the homeless are warm in the winter. I think she’s knitted over 1,000 hats already, which is an insane amount, if you ask me!

My humans don’t know how to knit, although I hope they start learning soon so they can knit sweaters for me. I know that’s really selfish of me, but I just want to show off their skills to the world.

I am really proud of my great-grandma and also the Australian man because they are helping out by using their knitting skills! One day, I hope to become a therapy dog and help out as well.

If we take a break from our busy lives and help others, penguins will no longer be hurt and people will no longer be cold. 🙂

We can do it!

Oma's Homeless Hats
Oma’s Homeless Hats
Leave a Reply

