TBT: Allergic Reaction

Fat Face Sookie
Fat Face Sookie

#TBT to that time last year when I got a reaction from a Rabies shot along with a DHPP vaccine.

Yup, my whole face swelled up and as you can see in the picture, I did not look pretty.

Mommy was freaking out, but honestly, I was just mildly annoyed I couldn’t go out for a walk looking like I got stung by bees.

The vet convinced mommy to let them give me 2 shots at once and well, nobody was expecting an allergic reaction.

It only lasted for a few hours though!
It only lasted for a few hours though!

I can’t believe I’m putting the photos up on here, but it would be good for canines and their humans to know that an allergic reaction can occur when more than one vaccine is administered in the same visit.

If this happens to you, make sure that your human is looking out for breathing difficulties, because a swollen face means that the airway could be blocked.

Stay safe, my friends!

5 thoughts on “TBT: Allergic Reaction

  1. Thank you Sookie for posting this. My mom is a new dog keeper and she didn’t know that I might get a reaction like that. I am glad I just had a rabies shot and will go back for another one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

