Sookie Cooks: Old-Fashioned Blueberry Muffins

Muffins so healthy, so addictive.
Muffins so healthy, so addictive.

The weekend proved to quite uneventful. I spent most of it with mommy as daddy had to go in to work.

I didn’t complain because I helped mommy make Old-fashioned Blueberry Muffins.

She doesn’t have a proper recipe for this yummy treat though. Grandma just emailed her a list of ingredients, with the instructions: “Add eggs, mix well.”

Mommy said these muffins were a better alternative to store bought ones because instead of full milk, she used skimmed, and instead of full eggs, she only used the whites. She also bragged about using only a quarter cup of sugar. I don’t know why she was so excited about that. Sugar is awesome. More sugar, more energy, more running around.

Top Secret Ingredients Just kidding. All-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, sugar, baking powder, skim milk, egg whites, butter, walnuts and blueberries.
Top Secret Ingredients
Just kidding.
All-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, sugar, baking powder, skim milk, egg whites, butter, walnuts and blueberries.

Mommy has made these muffins before. And I know they are addictive because daddy can eat three of them in one sitting. That infuriates mommy to no end because they are supposed to be eaten just as snacks, only one at a time, and only one a day.

The smell that fills the apartment up is really, really, mouthwatering. Bread is one of my favourite things, if not my top choice, from the seemingly never-ending List of Forbidden Foods that mommy has prescribed to me. The aroma is just so intoxicating. It reminds me of being at grandma’s and being fed white toast bread.

Doing my job: looking for crumbs.
Doing my job: looking for crumbs.

I didn’t have much success scavenging for blueberries and walnuts. Mommy wouldn’t even give me a small piece when the muffins came out of the oven. But I guess she felt guilty for me because she gave me dinner like, 2 hours early.

These muffins are A+!
These muffins are A+!

There’s still four muffins left on the counter.

My time will come!

2 thoughts on “Sookie Cooks: Old-Fashioned Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

